Actinopterygii Taxonomy

The Actinopterygii is the class of ray-finned fishes, sometimes called a taxonomy.

The ray-finned fishes get their name from the fact that they have lepidotrichia or “fin rays”. Their fins are webs of skin held by bony or horny spines (“rays”). This is different from the fleshy fins of the fish in the Sarcopterygii taxonomy.

Subclass Chondrostei

Order Polypteriformes, including the bichirs and reedfishes
Order Acipenseriformes, including the sturgeons and paddlefishes

Subclass Neopterygii

Infraclass Holostei

Order Lepisosteiformes, the gars
Order Amiiformes, the bowfins Infraclass Teleostei

Superorder Osteoglossomorpha

Order Osteoglossiformes, the bony-tongued fishes
Order Hiodontiformes, including the mooneye and goldeye Superorder Elopomorpha Order Elopiformes, including the ladyfishes and tarpon
Order Albuliformes, the bonefishes
Order Notacanthiformes, including the halosaurs and spiny eels
Order Anguilliformes, the true eels and gulpers
Order Saccopharyngiformes, including the gulper eel

Superorder Clupeomorpha

Order Clupeiformes, including herrings and anchovies

Superorder Ostariophysi

Order Gonorynchiformes, including the milkfishes
Order Cypriniformes, including barbs, carp, danios, goldfishes, loaches, minnows, rasboras
Order Characiformes, including characins, pencilfishes, hatchetfishes, piranhas, tetras, dourado / golden (genus Salminus) and pacu
Order Gymnotiformes, including electric eels and knifefishes
Order Siluriformes, the catfishes

Superorder Protacanthopterygii

Order Salmoniformes, including salmon and trout
Order Esociformes the pike
Order Osmeriformes, including the smelts and galaxiids

Superorder Stenopterygii

Order Ateleopodiformes, the jellynose fish
Order Stomiiformes, including the bristlemouths and marine hatchetfishes

Superorder Cyclosquamata

Order Aulopiformes, including the Bombay duck and lancetfishes

Superorder Scopelomorpha

Order Myctophiformes, including the lanternfishes

Superorder Lampridiomorpha

Order Lampriformes, including the oarfish, opah and ribbonfishes

Superorder Polymyxiomorpha

Order Polymixiiformes, the beardfishes

Superorder Paracanthopterygii

Order Percopsiformes, including the cavefishes and trout-perches
Order Batrachoidiformes, the toadfishes
Order Lophiiformes, including the anglerfishes
Order Gadiformes, including cods
Order Ophidiiformes, including the pearlfishes

Superorder Acanthopterygii

Order Mugiliformes, the mullets
Order Atheriniformes, including silversides and rainbowfishes
Order Beloniformes, including the flyingfishes
Order Cetomimiformes, the whalefishes
Order Cyprinodontiformes, including livebearers, killifishes
Order Stephanoberyciformes, including the ridgeheads
Order Beryciformes, including the fangtooths and pineconefishes
Order Zeiformes, including the dories
Order Gobiesociformes, the clingfishes
Order Gasterosteiformes including sticklebacks, pipefishes, seahorses
Order Syngnathiformes, including the seahorses and pipefishes
Order Synbranchiformes, including the swamp eels
Order Tetraodontiformes, including the filefishes and pufferfish
Order Pleuronectiformes, the flatfishes
Order Scorpaeniformes, including scorpionfishes and the sculpins
Order Perciformes 40% of all fish including anabantids, Centrarchids (including bass and sunfish), Cichlids, gobies, gouramis, mackerel, perches, scats, whiting, wrasses